Kari-On Productions is proud to introduce
Fred Hughes

Artist: The Fred Hughes Trio

featuring Amy Shook and Frank Russo

CD Title: Matrix

Add Date: January 16, 2016

Street Date: November 25, 2016

Label: ShoreThing Records

Label Site: www.ShoreThingRecords.com

UPC: 888295500135

Artist Website

Scroll down for Bio, CD Description, Tracks, Times and Composers and Players.

  • The Fred Hughes Trio - Dolphin Dance
    The Fred Hughes Trio - Dolphin Dance
  • The Fred Hughes Trio Presents - The Music of the Great Jazz Pianists
    The Fred Hughes Trio Presents - The Music of the Great Jazz Pianists

The Fred Hughes Trio got its start in the jazz clubs of Washington, DC. With Fred Hughes on piano, the current Trio features Bassist Amy Shook and Drummer Frank Russo. Individually, they bring over four decades of experience to the stage and a four year history as a working ensemble that includes three recordings for ShoreThing Records and performances at the Mid-Atlantic and Rehoboth Jazz Festivals as well as numerous concert series and jazz clubs throughout the Eastern United States.

Since its formation in 1989, a sampling of the groups credentials includes the Elkhart, Rehoboth, Cape May, East Coast, Clifford Brown and Mid-Atlantic Jazz Festivals, the 1996 Summer Olympics and tours to the Republic of Korea in 2001 and 2002. The Trio has performed with such artists as Claudio Roditi, Jon Fedchock, Warren Vache and Larry Coryell and the groups recordings include: Out Of The Blue (1996), Live!(1998), No Turning Back (2001), New Day Dawning (2006), In The Mist (2012), Love Letters(2015), I’ll Be Home For Christmas (2015), Matrix(2016) and the DVD, In Concert (2002), released in the Republic of Korea.

CD Description

The dictionary defines matrix as: “Something within or from which something else originates, develops, or takes form.” With that, Matrix seemed like the logical title for the Fred Hughes Trio’s 8th release and 3rd recording for ShoreThing Records. The tunes on the recording have been developing over the years in various Trio performances and even the artwork by graphic artist John Langton originated from these instructions: “How does an album title of Matrix with the composers Johann Sebastian Bach, Dave Brubeck, Chick Corea, Bill Evans, George Gershwin, Herbie Hancock, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky .... look to you? I was thinking along the lines of a mathematical formula, but I’ll leave that to you.”

Track Time

  1. I Got Rhythm – George and Ira Gershwin (2:53)
  2. Now He Sings, Now He Sobs – Chick Corea (4:57)
  3. Room 608 – Horace Silver (4:49)
  4. B Minor Waltz – Bill Evans (5:18)
  5. In Your Own Sweet Way – Dave Brubeck (5:26)
  6. Sicily – Chick Corea (4:23)
  7. Dolphin Dance – Herbie Hancock (6:42)
  8. Two Part Invention, No. 4 – Johann Sebastian Back (2:48)
  9. Andante Cantabile - Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (6:10)
  10. Matrix – Chick Corea (5:34)
  11. Waltse for Dave – Chick Corea (7:34)
  12. Watermelon Man – Herbie Hancock (4:09)
  13. Samba Song – Chick Corea (5:04)
  14. We Will Meet Again – Bill Evans (4:35)

Player and instrument:

Fred Hughes - piano

Amy Shook - bass

Frank Russo - drums

One Sheet: Click image to view PDF